Black Sheep

November 1, 2010 § Leave a comment

I have a plan.  I think about my novel, and I read sections of it and I just groan.  Tonight, while at Black Sheep with Forest, Alex, Stephanie and Wes, we came up with a short story idea and I’m excited about working on a different project.  Forest’s idea for me is to write this short story, then go back to the novel.  If I’m still feeling ugh about it, go back and write another short story.  I like this plan.

But I have other plans too. Now that my life is settling down a bit after a crazy hectic summer with work and marathon training, I want to pursue a few things over the next year.  It’s my last year of being in my twenties, and I want to go out with a bang.  So, my goals include: 1) taking a Somali language course, 2) teaching citizenship (again), and 3) hiring a personal trainer.  I realize with work, writing, maintaining relationships, and these new goals, I’ll be busy.  I know it’s very American and it can be dangerous to not stop and take the time to just be, but my late grandpa Johnson said, “If you want to get something done, ask someone who’s busy.”  It’s true.  I just seem to operate better when I have more going on.  I’m sure in a few months I’ll be looking for a break, but I’m looking forward to new things.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Black Sheep at Fire by Fire.

meta

