Ocean: Love

August 16, 2010 § Leave a comment

I spend a lot of time thinking about my novel.  Probably more time thinking about it than writing it these days, but hopefully that’ll change.  But there will be a theme of love in my book.  Last week while swimming in the ocean and getting tossed about by the waves, I remembered a poem I wrote last summer during my travel writing course.  As I told Ben, I wrote a “potion about the ocean”.  Sometimes I have trouble speaking, which is why I write.  🙂  Anyway, I don’t write poetry very often, and this was a “spontaneous poem”.  I wrote it in class in ten minutes and didn’t edit it.  I’ll share it here as long as I’m on the subject of love in old and new relationships.

“Ocean: Love”

Each journey holds a relationship
and each relationship is a journey.
It’s always about boys, isn’t it?
To paradise,
To happily ever after
to find that sometimes its hell,
and yet,
still happily ever after
just not in the way I thought.
I jumped—literally and
metaphorically—into the ocean,
screaming on the way down, off the
cliff of the great unknowns.
My arms stretched out
slapping the water
embracing the stuff that largely
composes us and surrounds us,
exhilarated and afraid.
I grew up around lakes.
I know lakes.
Calm, tame, measured.
I pretended I loved the ocean,
but then it almost killed me.
I thought I knew love,
but then it failed me.
Yet I keep jumping,
less and less fearful.
I love how the powerful waves
tumble me like clothes in a washing machine.
I feel sick and happy and then I know.
I love the ocean.
I love love.
Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ocean: Love at Fire by Fire.

meta

