Short Shorts!

July 27, 2010 § Leave a comment

I wore my new shorts on my run today, and boy are they tiny!  I pretty much felt like I was running in my underwear, but I’m not trying to impress anyone on the trail.  The plan today was to warm up for about 2 miles, and then run as fast as you can for another two miles.  Only, I heard that we had to run fast for one mile.  During my warm-up, I ran with Tseganesh who is much faster than me, and then I booked it for the fast part.  Ryan, our running coach was standing on his bike at where the trail split.  I yelled up to him, “This is where we shag, right?”  Side note for non-runners: Shagging is a running term that means to run very very slowly after a sprint.  I still think it is funny to say.  Ryan yelled back, “Nope, another mile to go.”  In the 85 degree sun, I was beat.  After the shag, we had to sprint again for 1.3 miles.  By the end, the sweat was dripping into my eyes and the salt stinging my eyes.  That is a new flavor of pain.

Okay, I’m going to be a girl here (because I am).  You’d think I’d be dropping the pounds, but not so much.  I know I’m gaining muscle and losing fat (ostensibly), but I wish I could see those numbers go down.  I suppose the real goal is to get fit and feel good, and I do so I don’t want to feel bad about myself.

Hmm.  While I haven’t been writing, I think I know where I’m going, at least in the very near future.  Like Adam says, it’s like driving in the dark with the headlights on.  I can see about twenty feet ahead of me, but I’m not sure what’s up ahead.  It’s a busy week for me, but I think I’ll get some writing time in on Sunday.

Cheers, faithful followers.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Short Shorts! at Fire by Fire.

meta

