Dreaming of Dreams

July 25, 2010 § Leave a comment

During my first year of college, every morning at the breakfast table (it was a school of 36 and we all ate together), I would proclaim, “I had the weirdest dream last night!”  My kind classmates all listened and laughed at the appropriate moments, but listening to someone else’s dream, I know, is not as captivating as listening to a real story.  But, I do think dreams are meaningful.  I am by no means an interpreter of dreams, and I’m not sure that’s even possible to do, but I ask that you come along with me in the adventure of my dream last night.

I had a dream last night in which my grandmother (who passed away in March) died and was about to be buried at the cemetery.  Right before they lowered the casket in the ground, a man I assumed to be a physician, opened the box and did one last check.  Behind the opened lid, he yelled, “She’s alive!”  It turns out her heart was still beating.  She was not buried, and I ended up keeping my grandma, still in her casket, in my room.  I would straighten her shoes, or fix her hair and talk to her.  Then one day she smiled.  Up until this point, she was dead except for her beating heart.  Some time later when I was next to her, she opened her eyes.  I said something to her and then she spoke!  Not long after that, Grandma was walking and talking and communing with my family.  We sat together on the couch one afternoon, and I said, “Grandma, you’re doing so well.”  But not long after that, I became uncomfortable with her aliveness.  I sensed that what was happening was not natural, and that she should in fact be dead.  I consulted doctors, and I can’t remember what they said, but I only remember wishing she would pass (again) soon.

After this dream ended, I dreamed another dream in which I was talking to my boyfriend, Ben.  I called him and told him about my strange dream.  When I was telling him the part about the physician checking her body right before it was about to be buried, he asked, “They do that?”  I said, “Yeah, it’s a common procedure.”  After telling my boyfriend, I told another friend who didn’t want to listen to a boring dream, but I demanded her attention.

I had a few more dreams before I woke up, but I find it interesting that this dream was so powerful that I dreamed of telling someone else about it.  I don’t know what this dream means for my life, but I’m interested in what it represents.  The idea of reviving someone or something that has died, back to life in vain.  The strongest emotion in my dream wasn’t happiness that my grandma was back, it was the sense of discomfort with her being alive after she had died.  It didn’t seem natural, and I think I felt a little guilty for being responsible in doing so.

Ian says to write down our dreams because maybe we’ll be able to use them in our work.  I might have to come back to this dream at some point.  Anyway, I’m on my way out the door for church, but I’ll be back later.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dreaming of Dreams at Fire by Fire.

meta

