The Time Trial

July 22, 2010 § Leave a comment

I had been looking forward to the time trial at Club Run, that is, until about 20 minutes before I started running.  During my two-mile warm up, my legs felt like cement and my breathing was heavy.  I ran with Tony and I kept talking to him so I would be distracted about the “race”.  I practiced breathing deep breaths and imagining that this was just another long run.  We came to a stop and lined up for our long-awaited time trial.  “Run as fast as you can, comfortably,” the coach said.  I’m not sure what that means.  Running as fast as I can is rarely comfortable.  But run fast is what I did.  Around Lake of the Isles I panted so loudly, walkers would turn around to see a sweaty girl bearing down on them.  I felt like I was going to die.  At a quarter mile to go, Ryan yelled, “Kick it into gear now!”  I started sprinting, near death, I thought, but crossed the finish line in 16:55.  Based on that time, our coaches have some algorithm to calculate our marathon time (and it isn’t x13).  I was hoping to run an 8:30/mile pace, and I did it!  Whew.  It was tough though.

I sent off my pages for my writing group tomorrow night.  I’m really looking forward to it.  Goodnight, all.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Time Trial at Fire by Fire.

meta

