People is sometimes kind.

July 21, 2010 § Leave a comment

Read here if you are interested in that subject line.  And if you read that, you can also know that I sometimes miss my days of teaching English.  While it was an incredible challenge, being a part of someone learning a new language is hilarious.  Yep, it’s all about me and being entertained by students.  (Hope you caught my sarcasm there.)  I think I might teach a class this fall at the English Learning Center on Chicago Ave.  I miss those loud Somali women!

I have been writing tonight!  For my novel!  It’s going okay.  Almost a month ago, teacher Ian suggested I use the Aphrodite and Hephaestus mythology as inspiration.  So I just wrote the scene in which Hephaestus catches Aphrodite in bed with Ares.  My story has different characters, but draws on the characterization of the classic myths.  I don’t want to reveal too much of it just yet.  I have an idea of what happens next in the book, but I have to figure out how to get from one episode to the next.  Sometimes I think writing comedy would be easier, but when I write a comedic scene, it is so cheesy.  Anyway.  I’m glad to be writing, and I’m looking forward to my meeting with my writing group on Thursday to get feedback and ideas.

I have an itch to make Ethiopian food right now, but I’m quite sure I don’t have the necessary spices.  Boo.  I might attempt something anyway, with lentils, cayenne pepper and onions.  I’ll write of my culinary adventures tomorrow.  Adios, amigos.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading People is sometimes kind. at Fire by Fire.

meta

