Purple Onion

June 25, 2010 § 2 Comments

Again, I’m not feeling terribly interesting today, but it was a writing day, and I did write 330 words or so.  I met Adam at the Purple Onion in Dinkytown, a coffee shop I used to go to with my snobby literati friends in college.  It has moved across the street, and I’m glad to announce that the space is calm and conducive to writing.  Also, the egg salad sandwich and latte aren’t bad either.  It is good that we meet to require ourselves to sit down and write for at least an hour, and I do get writing accomplished, but we almost always talk about our frustrations with writing and teacher Ian.  Is it worth paying for something that you don’t necessarily get a lot of enjoyment out of, but that you know is good for you?  Now, you might be asking a very good question.  Why do I write if I don’t enjoy it?  It’s not that I don’t enjoy writing, because I do.  But writing a novel is filled with uncertainty, and being under the guidance of Ian is intimidating.  Plus I’m stubborn and I don’t like being told what to do.  I like writing, but I think most writers feel like this most of the time–that it is hard work and we wonder why we do it except that we feel compelled.  At least I do.  Anyway, I wrote a tense hospital scene and I felt good about it.

I will probably hold off from blogging over the weekend, since I will be home in Alexandria with Benjamin!  So for the one person that actually reads this blog, see you Tuesday.  Au revoir.

§ 2 Responses to Purple Onion

  • Kate says:

    Hey. It’s Kate soon-to-be Pruden and I read your blog.

    You should always write so I can always read.

    Also: I so enjoy writers writing about writing. Buffalo buffalo buffalo. And people exploring a talent they have or growing at all. Sharing it is special.

    Word. (I meant that like slang, sorry for the pun.)

  • firebyfire says:

    Kate I-think-you-are-Pruden! Hi there! Honestly, I’m just getting around to commenting to a comment. Meta-commenting?

    I like your slang. You are one cool girl. 🙂 I think you are married now, and if so….CONGRATULATIONS! I will have to take you out for celebration dinner and/or drinks sometime. I also think you live in Mpls now, but I will cross the river for you.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Purple Onion at Fire by Fire.

meta

