228!

June 23, 2010 § Leave a comment

That’s how many words I wrote today, or rather words I wrote for my novel.  I probably write thousands of words a day, repeating myself time and time again to my clients.  It was one of those days.  It is the busy season at work, and I knew it was coming.  I consider myself a very patient person, but I am being tested day after day.  However, I got a massage after work from this itty bitty girl named Tina, who has been kicking my knots to the curb.  She’s an all-star.  Stress, be gone!

Tuesdays are my writing day, so what did I do?  I did everything I could think of besides writing.  I watched dumb T.V. (Hell’s Kitchen, and America’s Got Talent (how do you even compare a 16-year-old piano prodigy with an 83-year-old hand-whistling grandma?!?)), washed dishes, took out the trash, cleaned the floors, and played piano which always brings me satisfaction.  Only then did I sit down to write.  But I couldn’t think of what to write, so I opened up the nearest novel (On Chesil Beach, by Ian McEwan) and found a good line to copy and go from there.  This is the line I started with: “How did they meet, and why were these lovers in a modern age so timid and innocent?  They regarded themselves as too sophisticated to believe in destiny, but still, it remained a paradox to them that so momentous a meeting should have been accidental, so dependent on a hundred minor events and choices.”  I modified it quite a bit, but it was a good exercise and I had written 228 words when Ben called.  I am supposed to write 500 words today, but I promise (really, I do!) I promise I’ll make up for it on Thursday, my next writing day.

Vada, my pretty black cat, is cashed out next to me.  I think it is time for me to hit the hay too.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 228! at Fire by Fire.

meta

