The end is in sight…

June 21, 2010 § Leave a comment

1500 words = 5.5 pages today!  I feel good about my writing today.  I began to write the last scene of my book, or at least what I think it will be.  My theory is that if I have my end in sight, I’ll know what I’m writing towards.  I’m training for the Twin Cities marathon, and in 15 weeks I know I need to be able to run 26.2 miles, so today that means I need to be able to run at least 10 miles.  I’m starting an actual training schedule tomorrow, and I think the same principle might serve me well in writing.  If I can see the end and know where its going to be, then maybe I’ll know how to work back from that point.  Every writer will say something different.  Some need to write the ending first.  Some can’t know what it is until the end.  I don’t know what kind of writer I am yet, but I’ve been feeling confused and lost lately, that I’ll try just about anything.  Adam and I met at the Wilde Roast cafe today to write for two hours, and while a public place is not the most conducive for writing, I find less distraction out and about than I do at home.

John Hermanson wrote the liturgy at Mercy Seat, and will be leading it for the next four weeks.  I’ve been a fan of his music for 15 years, albeit strange to be worshipping God with his music instead of him or his music.  After church, Ben and I cooked Raspberry Balsamic Chicken together–over webcam!  It was fun, but I have to say that this recipe is much better with Mom’s homemade raspberry jam.  I am so lucky to have had a mom who baked her own whole-wheat bread (even ground the wheat!), cooked raspberry, grape and gooseberry jam from berries on our property, canned beans, tomatoes and beef, froze corn from the garden–all of this so that we could eat home grown food all year round.

I almost forgot to login and post, but my goal is to journal daily, if only for myself.  Tomorrow is Monday.  I’m not looking forward to waking up early, but I am excited about my first ClubRun meeting.

Ta ta!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The end is in sight… at Fire by Fire.

meta

