My new writing life begins today…

June 15, 2010 § Leave a comment

1400 new words written tonight.  Success!

My new writing life was supposed to begin about nine months ago, or even nine years ago while we’re at it.  I am writing a novel.  I thought I loved writing, but in actuality, I loved writing non-fiction.  Funny, strange, sad things would happen, and I’d write about them.  But fiction?  I have to come up with everything that is going to happen!  I never knew this experience could create such a profound sense of failure every day in not being able to come up with a new scene.  Someone once said writing fiction is just making decisions.  Hmm, I have been known to make some bad decisions and lots of rash decisions.  So why am I writing a novel?  I often dreamed about writing the great American novel, but I didn’t think I’d attempt it seriously.  But, something kind of amazing happened.  After finished up a fiction writing class this last Spring, my teacher decided to pitch my book idea to an agent.  To make a short story even shorter, I’m writing a book in the hopes of having it looked at by an agent and published shortly thereafter.  We shall see what happens.  I won’t tell you about my novel just quite yet, but I will tell you the (working) title is Fire by Fire, inspired by a line from Little Gidding (T.S. Eliot).

“The only hope, or else despair
Lies in the choice of pyre of pyre—
To be redeemed from fire by fire.”

I don’t understand it completely, but I like the metaphor.  Some days I would rather just read or watch Law & Order, but there is a writer inside of me.  And thanks to my Pudendum Group (ask, if you must), and my dear, encouraging Benjamin, I am writing.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My new writing life begins today… at Fire by Fire.

meta

